Skip to content
Infirmy

Why every website gives you a different price for treatment in India

Written by Jay ParveSources last checked

Checked 11 September 2026. This page is about the structure of medical pricing in India — the reasons two honest people can quote you two different numbers for what sounds like the same thing. It does not state a price for any treatment, and it is not medical advice.


The problem, shown rather than described

We searched for the cost of a kidney transplant in India — one of the most commonly searched procedure-cost queries in this market — and checked three pages that came up, all on the same day.

SourceQuoted range for the same operationSource cited on the page?
medsurgeindia.com$5,500 – $16,500No
bookimed.com$13,000 – $14,800States a methodology ("verified by Bookimed... based on patient requests and official quotes from 64 clinics worldwide") but names no specific hospital or invoice
medicaltourismco.com$13,000 – $24,000No

(All three checked 11 September 2026 — see sources above.)

That is a spread of more than four times — $5,500 at the low end to $24,000 at the high end — for something described in all three cases as "a kidney transplant in India." Two of the three pages state a number with nothing behind it: no hospital, no invoice, no date, no methodology. The third states a methodology but not a checkable source for the specific figure.

If you are the patient reading these three tabs, you cannot tell which number, if any, applies to you. That is not a minor inconsistency. It is the actual condition of this market, and it is the reason this page exists.

We are not going to add a fourth number to that pile. Instead, this page explains the real mechanisms that produce four different answers to what looks like one question — so that when you have an actual quote in front of you, you know what to check.


Four different things are being called "the price," and they are not the same thing

1. A government scheme rate

The Indian government publishes real, dated rate schedules for its own health schemes — for example the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS), whose current rate list was notified 3 October 2025 and took effect 13 October 2025 (source, read 11 September 2026). This is a genuine government-published number with a file reference and a named signing officer behind it — the most verifiable kind of figure that exists in this market.

It is also, explicitly, a reimbursement rate for a defined group of Indian government employees, pensioners and their dependants at hospitals under contract with the scheme — not an offer made to a private, international patient. We go through exactly what it covers, and what it doesn't, in what the CGHS rate list actually is. The short version: it is real, it is dated, and it is not your price.

2. A "package" price from a hospital or facilitator

When a hospital or a facilitator quotes you a "package," the word is doing a lot of work, and it means different things to different quoters. CGHS's own order defines its package precisely — admission to discharge, naming accommodation, anaesthesia, ICU, nursing, disposables and routine investigations as included items (source, Annexure II §1, read 11 September 2026). A private quote calling itself a "package" is under no obligation to define the word the same way. Two quotes that both say "$14,000 package" can cover genuinely different lists of what's included — one may bundle pre-op tests and a fixed number of ICU days, the other may charge those separately once you arrive. The number alone tells you nothing until you know what's inside it.

3. A private, market-set quote for an international patient

This is what you are actually shopping for, and it is set the way any private medical price is set anywhere: by the hospital's own cost structure, the surgeon's fee, the specific procedure and its complexity, the ward category you choose, whether a facilitator or agent is involved and what they are paid, and — for an international patient specifically — costs a domestic scheme patient doesn't carry: translation, visa-letter paperwork, international coordination, sometimes accommodation for an attendant. None of these line items exists in a government scheme rate, which is one reason the two numbers don't resemble each other even for the same operation at the same hospital.

4. A number with no attached facts at all

This is what two of the three pages above are: a figure that reads as authoritative because it's printed with a currency symbol and a headline above it, with nothing underneath to check. It may be a rough market estimate honestly rounded from real cases. It may be an anchor number chosen because it looks attractive in search results. From the outside, reading the page, there is no way to tell the difference — and that is exactly the gap this page and the CGHS explainer above are trying to close: not by inventing a fifth number, but by showing you a checkable one and telling you how to ask for a checkable one from whoever quotes you. For what a genuine treatment quote should itemise, line by line, see our companion page.


Why a package quote and your final bill can still differ

Even a specific, itemised quote from a real hospital can turn into a different final bill, for reasons that are legitimate and worth knowing in advance rather than discovering at discharge:

  • Duration. CGHS caps its own package at a fixed number of admission days by treatment type — for example, up to 12 days for specialised super-speciality treatment — and bills anything beyond that separately (source, Annexure II §1, read 11 September 2026). A private hospital's package is very likely to carry an equivalent limit. Ask what happens, in writing, if a complication extends your stay past whatever number is in your package.
  • Implants and specific medicines. Even the government's own scheme bills implants — lenses, stents, meshes, valves — separately from the package, at a listed ceiling rate or actual invoice, whichever is lower (same source, Annexure II §4). If your treatment involves an implant, a specific drug, or a device, ask explicitly whether its cost is inside the headline number or added afterward.
  • What "package" doesn't cover before or after admission. Pre-admission diagnostics, a second opinion, travel, accommodation for an attendant, and post-discharge follow-up are commonly quoted separately, and quoting practice varies by hospital and by facilitator. None of this is fraud — it is simply not standardised — but it is exactly where the gap between "the number I was quoted" and "the number I paid" tends to open up.

Who profits from an unattributed number, and what to ask instead

We are not going to claim, without a source, how common it is for a facilitator or agent to be paid a commission by a hospital for referring a patient — earlier drafts on this site made that claim and we removed it for exactly this reason: we could not find a published figure for how widespread the practice is, only that it exists as a business model in this industry. An unsourced prevalence claim would be the same failure this page is about, aimed at ourselves.

What is legitimate to ask, of anyone quoting you a price:

  • "Is this price a package, and can I see, in writing, what it includes and what it doesn't?"
  • "What happens to the price if my stay is longer than planned, or I need an implant or a specific medicine — is that inside this number or added later?"
  • "Are you paid a commission or referral fee by the hospital for my case? If so, how much, and does it change if I choose a different hospital?"
  • "Can I see this quote on the hospital's own letterhead, not only yours?"

A hospital or an honest facilitator can answer all four. A vague or deflecting answer to any of them is itself useful information.


What this page is not saying

This page is not saying treatment in India is overpriced, or that facilitators are dishonest as a category, or that the government's scheme rate is what you should expect to pay. It is saying that a bare number with no source attached is not information you can act on, however confidently it is printed — and that a real, dated, government-published rate exists for comparison, provided you understand what it is and isn't. Read what the CGHS rate list actually is for that in full, including a worked example using the same procedure as the table above.


This page describes pricing structures only. It does not state a price for any specific treatment, does not recommend any hospital or facilitator, and is not medical advice. If a decision depends on a number, get it in writing, with a date, from the party that will actually bill you.

This is general information about process and paperwork, not medical advice. Infirmy does not diagnose, recommend a treatment, or tell anyone what care to seek.

Sources

Each source below was opened and read on the date shown. If one has changed since, this page is out of date. Tell us and we will correct it and date the correction.

  1. CGHS Office Memorandum F.No.5-16/CGHS(HQ)/HEC/2024(Part I), dated 03.10.2025 — 'CGHS rates applicable for treatment at healthcare organisation' (full text with Annexures I–VII)https://delhijalboard.delhi.gov.in/sites/default/files/Jalboard/universal-tab/new_cghs_rates_applicable.pdfChecked 2026-09-11
  2. medsurgeindia.com — Kidney Transplant Cost in India (quoted range, no cited source)https://medsurgeindia.com/cost/kidney-transplant-cost-in-india/Checked 2026-09-11
  3. bookimed.com — Kidney transplant in India (quoted range, methodology stated, no named source for the figure)https://us-uk.bookimed.com/clinics/country=india/procedure=kidney-transplant/Checked 2026-09-11
  4. medicaltourismco.com — Kidney Transplant in India: Cost, Hospital & Donor Details (quoted range, no cited source)https://www.medicaltourismco.com/kidney-transplant-in-india/Checked 2026-09-11

Didn't find what you needed?

Infirmy has not opened yet, so we cannot promise a reply or how long one would take. If this guide did not answer your question, you are welcome to write to us at privacy@infirmy.com.